Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola

I’m always looking for healthy and great-tasting food that’s also gluten-free and vegan. This granola is SO good. It tastes like a decadent treat, and is really healthy! It took a few times of making it to get this recipe how I liked it. Even my kids like it. In addition to just eating it by itself, I like to have it in a bowl topped with unsweetened almond milk. The milk turns chocolately–yum!

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER GRANOLA

Coating Ingredients
1/4 cup natural peanut butter (I use organic to avoid GMOs)
1/3 cup pure maple syrup (I use organic Grade B)
15 drops liquid stevia
1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I use organic)
1/4 cup oil (I use grapeseed oil)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Dry Ingredients
2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats–not instant (I use gluten-free oats)
1 tablespoon ground flax seed, also called flax meal
1/2 cup various nuts and seeds (I like raw sunflower seeds and chopped pecans)

Topping: 1/4 cup chopped dairy-free dark chocolate (about 1/4 candy bar) — sometimes I use dairy-free chocolate chips

-Preheat oven to 275°.

-Grease or line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.

-Place coating ingredients in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. Whisk together until smooth. Bring to a simmer and cook at a very low simmer for one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and set aside.

-In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients.

-Pour the coating mixture over the dry ingredients and stir with a spatula until everything is evenly coated.

-Evenly spread the mixture in a thin layer on the prepared baking sheet.

-Bake for 25 minutes, stirring halfway through.

-Remove from oven. While still warm, sprinkle the granola with the chopped chocolate and gently stir. Leave granola evenly spread on baking sheet to cool.

-Store in an airtight container for several days. Freezes well.

I hope you enjoy this healthy, high-fiber, whole foods treat!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Granola

  1. This recipe looks great! I come across gluten-free oats. Will my local HFS have them or should I order them on-line? Can I use coconut oil instead of Grapeseed? Otherwise, I have all the ingredients on hand. Thx!

    • Genia, any health food store should have Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free oats. Regular oats are fine if gluten isn’t an issue. Sure you can use coconut oil. Just know the taste will be coconutty–but even more healthy!

Leave a Reply

